Apple Watch Series 6 Thoughts

Apple Watch Series 6 Thoughts

Apple Watch Series 6 Edition LTE

Other than last year’s Series 5 model, I’ve previously owned all of Apple’s smart watches. So after skipping a generation, this time around I’m upgrading from a Series 4 Space Black (stainless steel) model to Apple’s latest Series 6 offering.

I made the decision to skip the Series 5 last year because it didn’t offer much more functionality than the Series 4 I already owned. The main differences were:

  1. An always on low power display (and hardware to drive it)
  2. A compass
  3. Double storage capacity to 32 GB

In addition to these Series 5 improvements, a Series 4 upgrader also gets:

  1. Faster battery charging
  2. An additional 5 GHz Wi-Fi band
  3. A 20% faster processor
  4. A more alert barometer
  5. An ultra-wide band chip (meaningless at this point until Airtags or similar are released)
  6. A blood oxygen sensor
  7. An improved third generation heart rate sensor and GPS tracking capability (anecdotal at this stage)
  8. 2.5 x brighter screen (only when used outside) using the always on display setting

These incremental improvements demonstrate that the Apple Watch is now a mature product, and like the iPhone, giant leaps of technological improvement have slowed. Battery capacity and case size constraints are the main limiting factors here.

As has become common with Apple, they have offered the Series 6 in a variety of finishes, sizes and the option of an LTE cellular connection. I tend to opt for the most durable version that has the sapphire display and if possible a DLC coating. I always select the 40mm size as it fits best on my 16.5cm wrist. I purchased the 40mm Titanium Edition model in a Space Black finish with a nice hook and loop Sport Loop band.

This version is a costly £749 and if you want the privilege of AppleCare+ , you can add on another £179. Apple at least offer a two year standard warranty with their Edition watches, but I think I would rather have a one year warranty and purchase AppleCare+ for £89 (which is the AppleCare+ cost for non-Edition versions) and then have the benefit of accidental damage cover (after paying the £55 excess fee).

The Edition model does however come with an extra silicone strap with a matching pin, which is worth £49 and if you placed an early order, you got yet another power brick in the box.1

It doesn’t say anywhere on Apple’s product listing, but the understanding on the interweb is that the Space Black titanium version is the same as last year’s finish and it has a DLC coating. It’s a curious omission from Apple and only time will tell how scratch resistant the coating they’ve used proves. Aesthetically, I think I prefer the Space Black stainless steel finish over the brushed Space Black titanium because the Space Black steel blends with the display. However, the brushed finish looks pretty cool and understated and with an always on display, there is less of a reason to have the two materials match closely.

As an aside, I’d try and dissuade people from buying a Milanese Loop finished in DLC as there are numerous reports of this band scratching the watch case.

I have to ask myself whether it was worth upgrading my perfectly good Series 4 watch, when considering the 11 improvements mentioned above. Arguably the largest difference, and the one that made people upgrade to a Series 5 watch, is the addition of an always on display. I do like this and it’s plenty bright enough outdoors. There’s less of a need for surreptitious time-checks at work these days (virtual meetings FTW), but it does make a welcome change to not have to raise or tap the display to view content.

The compass and barometer will come in handy for day hikes and I’m looking forward to automatic map orientation on apps like WorkOutDoors.

About a month ago, I actually ran out of storage space on my old watch, so double storage capacity will mean I won’t have to shift music around. What strange times we live in when a watch has a 32 GB storage capacity.

The blood oxygen sensor is at this stage a gimmick. It usually gives me a reading that’s comparable to my Garmin Fenix 945 (which is another device that lacks FDA approval). This type of wrist sensor has been around for a few years from other manufacturers and is probably only of interest if you train at altitude. If you dive into Health settings, Apple records altitude along with the measurement and so it’s not hard to imagine Apple linking the two together in the future. Apple will probably quickly look to get FDA approval and tie it in with other health features as soon as possible.

Some well-known sports tech reviewers have commented that heart rate tracking and GPS tracking appear much improved. Apple has been known to literally ‘cut-corners’ with their route tracking and now they follow tight corners much more closely. This is specific to Series 6 watches and not watchOS 7 (which I had hoped). Another point to make for sports enthusiasts is that Apple don’t appear to allow the recording of VO2 Max from Bluetooth heart rate straps – you have to use the built in optical heart rate sensor. If you’re serious about VO2 Max, then you’re probably an athlete, and already own a more sports specific watch from somebody like Garmin. Apple try and be everything to everybody, but there is still a niche for companies like Garmin.

New Third Generation Sensor Package

I’ve noticed the faster charging battery, which is useful for watchOS 7 sleep tracking. A quick charge in the evening, followed by a charge when you wake up. Charging is so fast now that I’m struggling to transfer my music across because the watch will only do this when plugged in.

Speaking of sleep tracking, I think I’ll go back to AutoSleep as Apple’s watchOS 7 app is just too basic. I’ll keep Apple’s on for wind-down purposes and for their low power screen set up for sleeping purposes.

To sum up, I am pleased with my new Series 6 Apple Watch. There are just about enough reasons for a Series 4 to 6 upgrade. What this shows is that my Apple Watch upgrade cycle might now be every two years; otherwise the incremental improvements just don’t add up.


  1. Apple has now removed the plug from all watch versions ↩︎

Leave a comment